LLM | Master of Laws | Get Admission Now

LLM - Master of Laws - University of London

Postgraduate Laws LLM, LLM, PGDip and PGCert, University of London Degree

The University of London world-class, flexible Postgraduate Laws programmes are designed to meet a diverse range of needs. With 32 specialisations and 65 courses, you can either build a broad range of skills or specialise in a specific field.

Last Date to apply : September 25

Mode of Study

Distance learning | Teaching Centre

Programme duration:

1-5 years

Academic direction from

Queen Mary University of London, University College London

Master of Laws (LLM), Postgraduate Diploma (PGDip) or Postgraduate Certificate (PGCert)?

Students accepted to the Postgraduate Laws programmes start at three points of entry, namely at PGCert, PGDip or LLM. Your point of entry is determined by your entry qualifications but does not set your exit award. It is your choice to leave the programme with a PGCert, PGDip or and LLM – or all three!

You can collect all three qualifications as you wish, provided you complete within a maximum of five years.

  • All students are eligible for a PGCert award upon completion of five modules.
  • Upon completion of a total of ten modules (five towards a PGCert plus an additional five), you are eligible for a PGDip award. 
  • Upon completion of a total of sixteen modules (five towards a PGCert plus five towards a PGDip plus an additional six) you are eligible for an LLM award.

Choose from specialisations

If you choose to specialise, you need to study a minimum number of courses or modules within your specialist pathway. The number depends on the qualification you are working towards:

  1. PGCert (a total of five modules) – At least four modules from one
  2. PGDip (a total of 10 modules) – At least eight modules from one
  3. LLM (a total of 16 modules from four courses) – At least three complete courses (12 modules) from one 

You can decide on any specialisation you wish to take after you register. As courses may fit into more than one specialisation, it is possible to collect a different specialisation for each of your awards.

If you complete a specialisation, this is outlined on your certificate (for example, ‘Master of Laws in the specialisation: Computer and Communications Law’).

Courses usually fit into more than one specialisation, so you may be able to achieve a number of different specialist awards!

Specialisations available

  1. Banking and finance law
  2. Commercial and corporate law
  3. Common law
  4. Comparative and foreign law
  5. Competition law
  6. Corporate and securities law
  7. Human rights law
  8. Public international law